School Structure

UCD School of Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems is one of the largest schools in the University with an extensive and diverse portfolio of educational and research programmes, and multiple and well-developed links with key stakeholders in clinical practice, health service management, health policy and professional regulation. 

Reflecting our philosophy of person-centred care, the School’s organisational structure places the health service user and our students at the centre of all our endeavours. Academic activity comprises teaching and learning, research and innovation, and engagement with the professions and wider community. This is supported by administration and other key support staff in the Programme Office, School Office, Clinical Allocations Office, Clinical Skills Laboratories and Research Unit.

Our governance structure reflects the complexity of the school, its diverse activities and is founded on the principles of distributed leadership, interconnectivity and networked communication.

School Management Team:

Professor Gerard Fealy, Head of School and Dean of Nursing
Professor Abbey Hyde, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Professor Thilo Kroll, Associate Dean for Research, Innovation and Impact
Dr Timothy Frawley, Associate Dean for Taught Graduate Studies
Professor Martin McNamara, Associate Dean for Global Engagement
Ms Suzanne Kealy, School Director

School Executive:
Includes all members of the School Management Team plus:

Ms Elaine Bourke, HR Partner, UCD College of Health and Agricultural Sciences
Dr Michael Connolly, Director of Undergraduate Clinical Studies
Dr Kate Frazer, Director of Graduate Research
Ms Frances Howlin, Head of Subject: Children's Nursing
Dr Denise O’Brien, Head of Subject: Midwifery
Professor Laserina O’Connor, Director of Taught Graduate Clinical Studies
Ms Fiona Lynch, Programme and OPerations Manager
Ms Mary Ryder, Director of Nursing Education and Practice Development